

News Date 27-07-2017 Media
Type Newspapers Publication Type

Publication The Hindu Language English Page No 16

Height 15 Cols 3

Agency Bureau
Edition Noida

NEW DELHI ROUND-UP

Chance for shooters to get into their groove

Some of the leading shooters of the country are expected to compete in the 17th Kumar Surendra Singh memorial shooting to be staged at the Dr. Karni Singh Range, Tughlakabad, from July 27 to August 1. Competitions will be held in the rifle and pistol sections for men and women. With the Commonwealth championship in Australia round the corner and with two more National selection trials scheduled after this meet, the shooters will try to get into their groove. With the Commonwealth Games, Asian Games and World Championship scheduled for next year, it will be important for the shooters to lay the foundation for selection from now on, while a few others will try to preserve their best for the World Cup Finals to be held at the same venue later in the season. The first day's programme will have free pistol, men's air rifle and women's sports pistol. With quite a few entries for air rifle, the final will be held the following day; the same applies for men's air pistol (July 31 and August 1).

Manish rallies to win

Manish Kumar bounced back to beat Shailesh Singh 10-15, 15-12, 15-7 in the under-15 boys first round of the All India PNB Metlife junior badminton championships.

The results: Boys: U-17 (second round): Tarun Gakhad bt B.V. Uneeth Krishna 15-6, 15-10; Rahul Kumar Sah 15-12, 15-9; Madhav Kanojia bt Rupesh Pandey 15-9, 15-10; Advit Bhargava bt Tushar Kumar Setu 15-10, 15-12; Aarvesh Chauhan 15-11, 15-12. U-15 (first round): Ritik Dey bt Tushar Jaiswal 15-12, 10-15, 15-7; Harsh Kangra bt Suryansha Sushant Sheth 15-11, 10-15, 15-5; Manish Kumar bt Shailesh Singh 10-15, 15-12, 15-7. U-13 (second round): Raghav bt Pranav Makkar 15-5, 15-6; Adhayan Kakkar bt Telaprolu Teja Venkatesh 14-15, 15-10, 15-7; Dev Maheshwari bt Jomi Singam 15-8, 12-15, 15-8; Shaurya Pant bt Shaurya Porwal 15-11, 10-15, 15-11; Siddharth Modi bt Vansh Dev 14-15, 15-10, 15-4; Longjam Brikson bt Likhit Srovastava 15-12, 8-15, 15-11.

U-11 (second round): Uditya Dayal bt Angad Muchhal 11-9, 11-9; Longjam Brikson bt Ashiq 11-3, 9-11, 11-9; Vansh Dev bt Koustubh Tyagi 11-9,1 1-8; Manish Phogat bt Ayaan Bindall 11-9, 11-6.

U-9 (second round): Sanrekh Kumar Chaurasia bt Varad Vivek Landge 11-3, 11-4; Ali Zayyyan Siddique bt Arjun 11-10, 11-6; Prabhas Vadlamudi bt Shaurya Pratham 11-9, 10-11, 11-9; Vedant Pahwa bt Avadhut Kadam 11-10, 5-11, 11-2; Rehan Ali bt Rajas Pingle 10-11, 11-4,

11-3.

Girls: U-17 (first round):
Priya Konjengbam bt
Leimapokpam Diana Devi 15-7,
6-15, 15-8; Likhita Srivastava bt
Tanya Arora 15-9, 15-8; Mihika
Bhargav bt Kavya Gupta 15-14,
11-15, 15-14; Deeya Mishra bt
Tripti Singh 12-15, 15-8, 15-12.
U-15 (first round): Samprati
Pathrabe bt A. Apoorva 15-5,
15-4; Anya Chauhan bt

English Daily

Newspaper

U-15 (first round): Samprati Pathrabe bt A. Apoorva 15-5, 15-4; Anya Chauhan bt Anushka Parmar 12-15, 15-5, 15-6; Shreya Suyal bt Aadhyaa Jain 15-10, 15-10.

U-13 (second round): Anya Chauhan bt Samprati Pathrabe 15-5, 15-5; Muskaan Sangwan bt Srikari Reddy 15-7, 15-8; Jiya Rawat bt Saloni Kumari 15-13, 14-15, 15-12; Anushka Parmar bt Prashana Bonam 15-10, 13-15, 15-13; Unnati Hooda bt Sania Sangwan 15-13, 10-15, 15-13; Anwesha Gowda bt Diyashi Banerjee 11-15, 15-7,

U-11 (second round): Sanjana Sharma bt Violeena Devi 11-5, 11-9; Saadia Sheikh bt Anandini Nagda 8-11, 11-7, 11-5; Prashana Bonam bt Anmol Kharb 10-11, 11-6, 11-8; Priyanka Gupta bt Janis Cheriyan 11-8, 7-11, 11-6.

U-9 (second round): R.
Spoorthy bt Fizza Arif 11-1,
11-0; B.R. Madhumita
Ramamoorthy bt Kathlyn
Antony 11-10, 11-10; Saniya Rao
bt Juie Jadhav 11-6, 5-11, 11-5;
Nikitha Dodda bt Prisha
Kotecha 11-10, 11-10; Ashe
Singh bt Adarshini Shri 11-6,
8-11, 11-8; Naisha Ahlawat bt
Aashvi Sojatia 11-7, 5-11, 11-9;
Riya Vinherkar bt Khushi
Kanwar 11-6, 11-7.